Walker wins. Forty years of adhesive manufacturing, seven extension tape lines, three alcohol-based oil-free removers of its own, and about $0.12 a tab at a reseller against our $0.75. Vanity wins one narrow thing: our tab and solvent were built against each other. Walker owns lace and wig work outright.
Material connection, stated up front: we are Vanity Hair Solutions, we make one of the two products on this page, and we earn money when you buy it. We hold no affiliate arrangement with Walker Tape, received no product, payment or sample from them, and earn nothing from the resellers named here. Walker beats us on range, formats, manufacturing depth and price, and sells three oil-free removers of its own, which removes the differentiator we lean on elsewhere. Every Walker figure below traces to a page we opened on 31 August 2026 and listed at the foot.
This is not a fair fight and we are not going to pretend otherwise.
Walker Tape has been converting adhesive since 1985, when Brent Bonham started making product in his basement, and its own site describes the company as the industry leader in tape and adhesive for hair replacement systems. It works out of West Jordan, Utah, and sells seven named extension tape lines, five removers across nine listings, plus tabs, minis, contours, strips and rolls from a quarter of an inch to an inch and a half wide and from three yards to thirty-six. We are two licensed cosmetologists in Orem with a tab and a bottle.
The comparison is still worth running, because a stylist standing over a supply order is not choosing a company. They are choosing sixty tabs and four ounces of solvent for one head. It is also worth running because most of what is written about Walker on extension sites is wrong, including things we published ourselves before we read the pages properly.
The correction that matters most: Walker sells three alcohol-based, oil-free removers. Extension Release, No Trace and Gel Release all state an alcohol base on Walker's own product pages, and Extension Release and No Trace both state that they evaporate without cleanup. That is the same no-wash workflow we sell. Anyone telling you oil-free removal is what separates us from Walker has read the C-22 listing and stopped there. What is left is narrower: one company engineered the tape and the solvent against each other, and one publishes the arithmetic on what a removal costs. That is the whole of our case.
What we compared, and what we could not
We compared the two things a stylist actually buys, a double-sided tape tab and a bond remover, on published specification, format range, remover chemistry, ingredient disclosure and cost per head. We have used Walker tape and C-22 in a working salon for years. We have run no laboratory test of adhesion, wear duration, residue or skin response on anything here. Where Walker publishes no figure, which is every price on its own site, we have said so rather than substituting a reseller number and calling it theirs.
- Range
- Seven adhesive lines and five remover products against our two SKUs
- Format
- Tabs, minis, contours, strips, rolls, yardages, bottle sizes
- Remover chemistry
- Oil-free or oil-based, and how many of each
- Disclosure
- Ingredients, dimensions, wear claims and safety data actually published
- Cost per head
- 60 tabs and one removal, priced from what each brand publishes
- Pairing
- Was the solvent formulated against this specific adhesive
The short version
| Walker Tape | Vanity | |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 1985, West Jordan, Utah | Tape and remover developed over about ten years in Orem, Utah |
| Extension tape lines | Seven Beautify lines | One tab |
| Tab count per pack | 120 a bag | 60, which is exactly one full head |
| Per tab | About $0.12 ($13.99 for 120 at Hair HA) | $0.75 |
| Tab sizing | For extensions up to 1cm x 4cm | Standard tape-in footprint |
| Stated wear | 4-6 weeks, all Beautify tapes | No figure published |
| Remover products | Five across nine listings | One |
| Oil-free removers | Three: Extension Release, No Trace, Gel Release | One: The Clean Remover |
| Remover volume | 4 fl oz across the Beautify line | 4.0 fl oz |
| Remover price | Not published; C-22 $6.99 to $10.99 at resellers | $25 |
| Per ounce | About $1.75 to $2.75 for C-22 at retail | $6.25 |
| Removals per bottle | Not published for any remover | About 30, so about $0.83 each |
| Remover ingredients | Not published; the C-22 SDS names aloe only | IPA, MEK, ethyl acetate, deionised water |
| Formats we do not sell | Minis, contours, strips, rolls to 36 yards | None of them |
| Lace and wig adhesive | The category standard | Not sold |
| Public pricing | No, trade login on every page | Yes |
| Solvent matched to own tape | No, formulated to work across everything | Yes |
Walker figures as published on walkertapeco.com and its safety data sheet, read 31 August 2026, except the two price rows, which are third-party reseller prices attributed to the reseller and never to Walker. Walker shows no price to a logged-out visitor on any page we opened. Wear durations on both sides are manufacturer claims, not laboratory results.
1. Walker Tape Beautify tabs, three alcohol removers and C-22
Seven Beautify tape lines, 120pc tab bags, stated 4-6 weeks - five removers at 4 fl oz, three of them alcohol-based - about $0.12 a tab and $1.75 an ounce at resellers
Start with range, because it is the part no small brand can answer. Beautify is Walker's extension line and it carries seven named tapes: Ultra Hold for heavier wefts, No-Shine for a matte finish that does not flash through fine hair, Duo-Pro, Duo-Elite, Lace Front, Natural Hold and Pro-Flex II. Duo-Pro is the one worth singling out. Walker describes it as the first tape made exclusively for hair extensions, with one side built for the extension weft and one side for bio hair. That is an asymmetric construction nobody else in this category sells, ourselves emphatically included.
Then the removers, which is where most write-ups of Walker go wrong. The Beautify set is nine listings covering five products, all at 4 fl oz. Extension Release states an alcohol base safe for all extensions, says it evaporates without cleanup, and gives a 20-second dwell. No Trace also states an alcohol base, describes itself as cutting through bonds like an oil-based solvent, also says it evaporates without cleanup, and gives a 10-second dwell. Gel Release is an alcohol gel covering tape-in bonds at 30 seconds and keratin bonds. Only C-22 and Weft Release are oil-based. A published dwell time on each product is a level of specificity almost nobody else offers.
And the price, as far as anyone can establish it. Walker publishes nothing publicly. A stockist lists the 120-piece Beautify Ultra Hold bag at $13.99, about $0.12 a tab, and three retailers list 4 fl oz of C-22 at $6.99, $7.00 and $10.99. Those are reseller figures on reseller margin, not Walker's, and we will not present them as Walker's. They still bracket the answer, and every one of them sits under ours.
What it does well
- Seven extension tape lines against our one, differentiated by finish and weft weight
- Duo-Pro is asymmetric by design, weft side and bio-hair side, which nobody else builds
- Three alcohol-based oil-free removers, two of them stating no cleanup at all
- Published dwell times of 10, 20 and 30 seconds across the remover line
- Formats we do not sell: minis, contours, strips, and rolls to 36 yards
- About $0.12 a tab and $1.75 an ounce of C-22 at retail against our $0.75 and $6.25
- Forty years of adhesive manufacturing on machinery the company built itself
Where it loses
No price on any page without a trade login, so a stylist cannot cost a head before opening an account, and the figures above are all somebody else's margin. No ingredient list for any remover, and the C-22 safety data sheet names only aloe barbadensis leaf juice at 5-10 percent with the rest withheld as a trade secret. No yield figure on any bottle, so cost per removal cannot be worked out for any Walker product. No application tool and no kit. And the 120-tab bag is two full heads, which is an inventory unit rather than an appointment unit.
Verdict. The default answer for most buyers on most days. Deeper, cheaper at retail, and better at everything countable except disclosure.
2. Vanity Replacement Tape Tabs and The Clean Remover
60 tabs for $45 ($0.75 a tab, 30 sandwiches, one full head) - 4.0 fl oz oil-free remover for $25, about 30 removals, about $0.83 each, $6.25 an ounce
We are roughly six times Walker's per-tab price at retail and roughly three times their per-ounce price. $0.75 a tab against about $0.12. $6.25 an ounce against about $1.75. If consumable cost is your binding constraint, the honest instruction is to stop here and order Walker.
What we can claim is narrow. Our tab and our solvent were developed against each other by Jaci Finch and Tru Eastman over about ten years of daily salon use, adjusting one when the other misbehaved. Walker's removers are formulated to work across everything on the market, including their own seven adhesive lines, which is the correct decision for a company selling into hair replacement, extensions and fashion at once and means release is tuned to a family rather than aimed at a target. In our chair, on our own tape, that shows up as more bonds opening on the first application. We have not measured it under controlled conditions and are not going to say we have.
The second thing is disclosure, and against Walker it is the clearest difference on the page. We publish four ingredients: isopropyl alcohol, methyl ethyl ketone, ethyl acetate and deionised water. Walker publishes a base and a residue rating, and the current C-22 safety data sheet names one ingredient out of the whole formulation. Neither position is unlawful. But a client who reacts to a solvent, and the doctor she then sees, can read our label and cannot read theirs.
The third is the arithmetic. 4.0 fl oz at $25 gives about 30 removals, which is about $0.83 a removal, and we print the sum so you can check it. Walker publishes no yield on any of the nine Beautify remover listings, so no equivalent number exists for any of their bottles. And sixty tabs is thirty sandwiches, which is one full head, so a pack maps onto an appointment. Walker's 120-piece bag is two heads, which means a half-used bag sits in a drawer through a humid summer, and adhesive does not improve there.
What it does well
- Tab and solvent developed against each other over about ten years of daily salon use
- Full formulation published: isopropyl alcohol, methyl ethyl ketone, ethyl acetate, deionised water
- About $0.83 a removal, published with the arithmetic shown
- 60 tabs is exactly one full head, so a pack is an appointment rather than stock
- Every price public, with no trade account and no login
Where it loses
The most expensive tab and remover in the category and by a long way against Walker: $0.75 a tab against about $0.12 at a reseller, and $6.25 an ounce against about $1.75. One tab line against seven. No minis, no contours, no strips, no roll or yardage format of any kind. No hypoallergenic claim. No lace, poly or wig adhesive, so a hair replacement studio has nothing to buy from us. No application tool sold on its own, and no gel or citrus solvent for a hardened bond. Zero verified customer reviews to date. And the matched-pair advantage, which is our entire case, is worth nothing on Walker's tape.
Verdict. Worth the premium only if you run our tape and value first-pass release, published ingredients and a published yield. Otherwise Walker.
3. What C-22 is, and what Walker will not tell you
SDS WTC-045 v2, issued 14 April 2025, revised 19 May 2026 - Flammable liquids Category 4 - flash point 66C / 150.8F - one ingredient disclosed
C-22 is the Walker product everyone has heard of and the one place nothing we make comes close. Walker's own specification block lists it plainly: base oil, removal speed fast, residue high, fragrance mild citrus, skin safe yes. Publishing a residue rating of high on your own best seller is what a manufacturer does and what a marketing department does not.
The safety data sheet explains why it works. C-22's evaporation rate is listed at less than 0.06 against butyl acetate at 1, with a vapor pressure of 0.2 mm Hg at 20 degrees Celsius and a flash point of 66C. Beside an alcohol solvent, which flashes off in seconds, that is a solvent which stays where you put it. Contact time is the mechanism on a bond cured through ten weeks of chlorine and daily heat, and it is what an evaporating alcohol product, ours included, cannot offer. The same property is why the residue rating is high.
Now the part that has to be handled carefully. Walker does not disclose what is in C-22. The current safety data sheet, WTC-045 version 2, issued 14 April 2025 and revised 19 May 2026, names exactly one chemical in its composition section: aloe barbadensis leaf juice, CAS 85507-69-3, at 5 to 10 percent. Aloe is a skin conditioner. Everything that actually dissolves adhesive is withheld under the sheet's trade secret provision, which is lawful and completely ordinary in this trade. Walker's product copy, reproduced identically by two separate stockists, describes the formula as organic wetting agents, petroleum hydrocarbons, citrus oils and lanolin. That is four categories rather than a formulation, and the citrus oils are not itemized.
Citrus terpenes as a class include d-limonene, which DermNet describes as a fragrance chemical from citrus peel that oxidizes in air into hydroperoxides that are much more potent sensitizers, with ten percent of people investigated for suspected contact dermatitis found allergic to them. Whether C-22 contains d-limonene, and at what level, we cannot tell you and neither can any published Walker document, and we will not assert it from an orange colour and a citrus smell. The honest position is about information rather than harm: we have no basis for saying C-22 is unsafe and are not saying it. An undisclosed formulation simply cannot be patch-tested against a known sensitivity.
What it does well
- Sustained contact time no alcohol solvent can match, and the SDS numbers explain why
- Walker publishes its own residue rating as high rather than hiding it
- The safety data sheet is public, current, and revised as recently as 19 May 2026
- Sold in 4, 12 and 128 fl oz, so a high-volume studio can buy sensibly
Where it loses
High residue by Walker's own rating, so it forces a shampoo before re-tabbing and is the slowest possible routine workflow. The composition is withheld as a trade secret with only aloe named, so nobody can check it against a known allergy. It is a combustible liquid with an aspiration hazard, and the SDS records it as toxic to aquatic life with long lasting effects.
Verdict. The right tool for a hardened bond and lace work, and the wrong one for a routine move-up. Keep a bottle regardless of what else you buy.
4. What a full head actually costs, worked through
60 tabs per head - Walker prices only exist at resellers - no wear-test data on either side
A standard full head is thirty sandwiches, which is sixty tabs. That single number turns two catalogues into a decision. Ours is easy because we publish everything: sixty tabs at $0.75 is $45, and one removal is about $0.83, from 4.0 fl oz at $25 giving about thirty removals. So a move-up costs roughly $45.83 in Vanity consumables, before hair and before chair time.
Walker's is harder, and the difficulty is the point. Nothing on walkertapeco.com shows a price to a logged-out visitor. Every product page we opened, tabs and removers alike, carries the same line asking you to log in to see price or purchase the item. What exists instead is reseller pricing: Hair HA lists the 120-piece Beautify Ultra Hold bag at $13.99, about $0.12 a tab, so sixty tabs is roughly $7.00. Wigs.com lists 4 fl oz of C-22 at $6.99 against an $8.20 regular price, Super Hairpieces at $7.00, Hive Beauty Supply at $10.99. Three retailers, three margins, none of them Walker.
Even at the highest of those figures the gap per head is thirty to forty dollars on tabs alone. Two move-ups a week is a hundred heads a year, so around $700 of Walker tabs against $4,500 of ours, and no argument about pairing or engineering makes a figure like that disappear from a small business. The counter-argument runs one way only and it is a time argument: if a matched solvent genuinely saves you ten minutes across a full-head removal, the shape of the sum changes. We observe that on our own tape but have not measured it, so treat it as an observation from a chair rather than a result from a bench.
What it does well
- Sixty tabs per head is a stable figure both brands can be priced against
- We publish a yield, so a per-removal cost exists on our side and can be checked
- Reseller listings make a rough Walker per-tab figure possible without a trade account
Where it loses
Walker publishes no price of its own, so the Walker column of this sum is built on three resellers' margins and is not the manufacturer's pricing. Walker publishes no yield on any remover, so cost per removal cannot be compared at all. And neither brand has published a controlled wear test, so the durability half of the value equation cannot be settled from published data by anybody, us included.
Verdict. Run the sum for your own volume. For most books the price gap is the whole decision, and it does not point at us.
5. Running both, which is what we actually do
Walker in the drawer for hardened bonds and inherited installs - a matched pair on your own installs only
A head to head implies you have to pick one. In a working salon that is usually false, and our own station is the evidence.
Every stylist taking tape-in clients inherits work. Somebody arrives with a nine-week install from a brand you have never stocked, in an adhesive you cannot identify, and a solvent tuned to our tape has no advantage on it at all. Universal is exactly what you want when you do not know what you are dissolving. For a genuinely hardened bond, C-22 is the answer and there is no substitute in our range: an alcohol solvent flashes off before it has done the work.
So the configuration we would actually recommend is unglamorous. Walker C-22 in the drawer for hardened bonds and inherited installs. Walker Extension Release or No Trace if you run Walker tape, because they were formulated against the adhesive you are removing and ours was not. Ours on our own tape, if you run our tape. If you do not run our tape, there is no reason for our bottle to be on your station at all.
What it does well
- A universal solvent covers the appointments you cannot predict
- C-22 covers hardened bonds that an evaporating alcohol product handles slowly
- Walker's own alcohol removers are the right choice on Walker tape, not ours
Where it loses
Two suppliers means two accounts, two reorder cycles and more shelf space, and Walker's account sits behind a trade approval rather than a checkout. If you install one brand of hair and one brand of tape, this is over-engineering.
Verdict. For mixed-brand salons, own both. For single-brand salons, own whichever tape is on the head.
Which one should you actually buy
Buy Walker if cost, range, format or lace and wig work matters, which covers most stylists. Buy Vanity only if you run our tape and want first-pass release, a published ingredient list and a published per-removal cost. On price, range, formats and manufacturing depth there is no contest and we lose it.
- Buy Walker if your constraint is money. About $0.12 a tab at a reseller against our $0.75 is the whole argument and it is a good one.
- Buy Walker if any part of your book is lace fronts, poly systems, wigs or hairpieces. We make nothing in that category.
- Buy Walker if you need a format we do not sell: 72-piece minis, AA to CC contours, three-inch strips, or rolls from a quarter inch to an inch and a half in three, twelve or thirty-six yard lengths.
- Buy Walker if you want to specify a tape by property. Ultra Hold for heavy wefts, No-Shine for a matte finish on fine hair, Duo-Pro for an asymmetric build. We sell one tab.
- Buy Walker if you already run Walker tape. Extension Release and No Trace are alcohol-based, evaporate without cleanup, and were formulated against the adhesive on the head.
- Buy Vanity if you want the ingredient list published rather than withheld, the per-removal cost shown as arithmetic, and a pack that equals exactly one head rather than two.
- Buy both if you inherit other stylists' work regularly, which most stylists do.
Where the two brands are genuinely the same
Comparison pages manufacture difference, so it is worth naming the places where there is none. Both companies sell an oil-free alcohol remover that supports removal and re-tabbing in one appointment with no shampoo in between. Walker sells three of them. Both tab formats fit essentially any tape-in weft, since Walker's Beautify tabs are sized for extensions up to 1cm by 4cm and the category standard footprint is 4cm by 0.8cm. Both removers are flammable and want the same handling. And neither company has published a controlled wear test, so every duration figure on this page is positioning rather than data.
That matters more than a tidy comparison would like, because oil-free is the property most of this category's marketing turns on, and against Walker it is not a differentiator at all. Big Kizzy Remover 1 is oil-free. Bellami sells an oil-free alcohol spray with a full ingredient list published. Walker sells three. So do not choose between us and Walker on that axis, because it does not separate us.
The specification sheets side by side
| Claim | Walker, as published | Vanity, as published | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tab sizing | For extensions up to 1cm x 4cm | Standard tape-in footprint | Both fit any weft |
| Tab count | 120 a bag | 60 a pack | Ours is one head, theirs is two |
| Adhesive grade | Not published on any line | Not published as a grade | Neither of us discloses this |
| Tab thickness | 11.5 mil on Ultra Hold, per a reseller listing | Not published | Reseller figure, not Walker's |
| Wear duration | 4-6 weeks, all Beautify tapes | No figure published | Theirs is a claim; we make none |
| Remover base | Alcohol on three, oil on two | Alcohol, oil-free | Not a difference between us |
| Remover ingredients | Not published; SDS names aloe only | IPA, MEK, ethyl acetate, deionised water | Ours is the fuller disclosure |
| Dwell time | 10, 20 and 30 seconds by product | About 30 seconds, both sides misted | Theirs is the more specific set |
| Bottle volume | 4 fl oz across Beautify | 4.0 fl oz | Identical |
| Removals per bottle | Not published | About 30 | Only one side can be costed |
| Storage | 60-80F, dark, dry, sealed, one year shelf life | Cool, dark, capped | Theirs is the more detailed guidance |
| Public price | None on any page | Every price published | The clearest gap on their side |
Not published means exactly that. We have written the words rather than estimating a figure neither company states. The 11.5 mil thickness is a reseller's specification, not Walker's own.
The C-22 safety data sheet, read line by line
C-22 comes up constantly in discussions of sensitive scalps, usually accompanied by a confident claim about what is in it. We pulled the current safety data sheet from Walker's own server so we could stop guessing, and it is more interesting for what it withholds than for what it states.
| Section | What the C-22 safety data sheet states |
|---|---|
| Document | SDS number WTC-045, version 2, issued 14 April 2025, revised 19 May 2026 |
| Supplier | Walker Tape Co., Inc, 9312 Prosperity Rd, West Jordan, Utah 84081 |
| Appearance | Clear, orange liquid. Citrus odor |
| Classification | Flammable liquids, Category 4. Signal word Warning. Hazard statement: combustible liquid |
| Flash point | 66C / 150.8F |
| Evaporation rate | Less than 0.06, against n-butyl acetate at 1 |
| Composition disclosed | Aloe barbadensis leaf juice, CAS 85507-69-3, 5-10 percent |
| Composition withheld | Where the name or percentage is proprietary or a range, the identity is withheld as a trade secret |
| Aspiration hazard | May be fatal if swallowed and enters airways |
| Carcinogenicity | Does not contain carcinogens listed by OSHA, IARC or NTP |
| Ecotoxicity | Toxic to aquatic life with long lasting effects |
| Gloves | Nitrile or Kevlar recommended for sensitive individuals |
Read from walkertapeco.com on 31 August 2026 and reproduced rather than interpreted.
Two things follow. The evaporation rate is the whole story of why C-22 works and why it leaves residue: under 0.06 against butyl acetate is a solvent that stays wet on the bond long after an alcohol product has gone, which is contact time, and contact time is what breaks a cured adhesive. It is also an oily film left on the hair, which is why Walker rates its own residue as high. And Walker does not disclose what does the work. The only chemical named is aloe, a skin conditioner. We would not describe that as a safety problem. We would describe it as an information problem, and it is the only disclosure axis on which we beat Walker.
The wear claim, and why Walker deserves credit for it
Every Beautify page states that all Beautify tapes will last 4 to 6 weeks depending on installation and care. Big Kizzy states 5 or more weeks on its Regular Hold tabs. We publish no figure at all, because the cycle in our chair is capped by grow-out rather than by adhesion.
Walker's is the most conservative number in the category and that is a point in their favour, not against them. A tape that promises six weeks and delivers six is a better product to build a diary around than one that promises ten and delivers seven, and a stylist who booked eight weeks on somebody else's claim and gets a slipped panel at six has lost an appointment and some trust. Every figure here, ours included, is a manufacturer claim reproduced as a claim.
Flammability, which applies to both of us
Our remover is alcohol-based and flammable. Keep it away from heat and open flame, work in a ventilated space, and cap the bottle between bonds rather than leaving it open next to a hot iron. Walker's Extension Release and No Trace are on the same chemistry and want the same handling. C-22 carries its own set: Walker's page warns to keep it away from heat, sparks or open flame, to use it in a well-ventilated area, to avoid cut or irritated skin, and to patch test before use, and its safety data sheet classifies it as a combustible liquid with a 66C flash point. None of this is a competitive point in either direction. It is the price of a solvent that dissolves adhesive, and both companies pay it.
What Walker sells that we do not sell at all
| Format | Walker | Vanity |
|---|---|---|
| Extension tabs | 120pc bags across seven Beautify lines | 60 a pack, one line |
| Mini tabs | 72pc bags | None |
| Contour tabs | AA, A, B, C and CC, in 36pc and 1,000pc bags | None |
| Strips | 1/2in, 3/4in and 1in x 3in, 36pc bags | None |
| Extension rolls | 1/4in, 1/3in and 3/8in x 6 yards | None |
| Hair-system rolls | 1/2in to 1 1/2in wide, 3, 12 and 36 yards | None |
| Remover formats | Spray, drip-top and squeeze-bottle gel | Spray |
| Remover sizes | 4 fl oz Beautify; C-22 in 4, 12 and 128 fl oz | 4.0 fl oz |
| Application tool | Not sold | Inside the $85 kit and $95 system only |
| Written method guide | Not sold as a product | Inside the $95 Complete System |
Two rows run our way and eight run theirs. The application tool row is a win for neither of us: Walker does not sell one and we only sell ours inside a kit, so a stylist who needs a press on its own buys it from Big Kizzy or The Hair Shop.
If you are running Walker tape
Buy Walker's Extension Release or No Trace. Both state an alcohol base, both state that they evaporate without cleanup, and both were formulated against the adhesive you are actually removing. Ours was not. We would rather you got a clean release than an order from us. What our remover does on other brands
Switching, or deciding not to
- Work out your annual tab spend on bothHeads per year multiplied by 60 tabs multiplied by your per-tab price. A hundred heads at $0.75 is $4,500. At the $0.12 reseller figure it is about $700. That difference is the honest size of the decision.
- Ask whether any of your work is hair replacementIf any part of your book is lace fronts, poly systems or wigs, you are keeping a Walker relationship regardless of what happens to your extension consumables. Nothing we make substitutes for that.
- Count the second applications on your next full-head removalThat is the only test of whether a matched pair is buying you anything. If one or two bonds out of thirty want a second mist, the pairing is doing very little and you are paying a premium for it.
- Keep a bottle of C-22 whatever you decideHardened bonds and inherited installs from an adhesive you cannot identify are what it is for. Its residue is a real cost, so use it for those and reach for an alcohol remover on everything routine.
Lace, wigs and hairpieces, where we are not in the conversation
Walker's hair-system line is the reason the company exists and it is the clearest concession on this page. Ultra Hold, described by Walker as one of the strongest, longest holding and tackiest tapes in the industry with a stated hold of up to four or more weeks, comes as three-inch strips in three widths, 72-piece mini bags, contours in five shapes, and rolls from a half inch to an inch and a half wide in three, twelve and thirty-six yard lengths. C-22 comes in a 128 fl oz gallon, and a gallon tells you exactly who the customer is. We make no lace adhesive, no poly adhesive, no wig tape and no hairpiece solvent, and we have no plans to. If you came here because a lace bond failed, close this page and reorder from Walker.
The full review of their range
We reviewed Walker on its own terms, including the seven Beautify lines, the remover chemistries and the login wall, before writing this comparison. A fair review is what earns the right to run a head to head. Read our Walker Tape review
What Walker Tape does better than us
Lace, poly and wig adhesive, completely. This is Walker's home category and the reason the company exists. Ultra Hold in the hair-system line, described by Walker as one of the strongest, longest holding and tackiest tapes in the industry, comes in strips, minis, contours and rolls to thirty-six yards, and C-22 comes in a gallon. We make no product of any kind in that category and do not compete there at all.
Format range, and it is not close. Seven Beautify extension tape lines against our one tab, plus 72-piece mini bags, contour shapes in AA, A, B, C and CC, three-inch strips in three widths, extension rolls in three narrow widths on six-yard reels, and hair-system rolls from a half inch to an inch and a half in three, twelve and thirty-six yard lengths. We sell one tab in one count and no bulk or custom-cut format at all.
Oil-free removal, which removes our usual differentiator. Extension Release, No Trace and Gel Release all state an alcohol base on Walker's own pages, and Extension Release and No Trace both state that they evaporate without the need for any cleanup. The no-wash workflow is not ours alone, and against Walker it is not a differentiator in any direction. We published pages of our own that implied otherwise before we read the catalogue properly.
Price, on the evidence anyone can read. Walker publishes nothing, but a reseller lists the 120-piece Beautify Ultra Hold bag at $13.99, about $0.12 a tab against our $0.75, and three retailers list 4 fl oz of C-22 between $6.99 and $10.99 against our $25 for the same volume. Whatever Walker's own trade pricing is, it is at or below those figures.
A more conservative wear claim, and published dwell times. Walker states 4 to 6 weeks on every Beautify tape where extension brands routinely publish more, and gives 10, 20 and 30 seconds product by product on the removers. Under-promising on the one number a stylist books a diary around is the harder commercial choice and the more honest one, and a dwell time is what makes a remover usable by somebody who has not been trained on it.
Manufacturing, and C-22 on a hardened bond. Walker has been converting adhesive since 1985 on machinery it designed and built, supplying hair replacement, beauty, fashion and sports. We are two cosmetologists who specified a tab and a solvent and had them made. And C-22's evaporation rate of under 0.06 against butyl acetate is a solvent that stays wet on the adhesive long after ours has flashed off, which on a ten-week cured bond does work our remover does slowly or not at all.
What this comparison is based on, and what it is not
This comparison rests on using Walker tape, C-22 and Walker's alcohol removers in a working salon in Orem, Utah alongside our own products, and on every specification, warning and safety document on walkertapeco.com we could open on 31 August 2026, all listed below. Our own figures are our published prices divided by our published counts, with the arithmetic shown so you can check it.
We have run no laboratory comparison of adhesion, wear duration, residue or skin response between any products here. Every wear figure on either side is manufacturer positioning reproduced as a claim. The C-22 safety data sheet is quoted as published and has not been interpreted beyond what it states, and we have not asserted the presence of any ingredient it withholds. Our observation that a matched pair releases on the first application more often is an observation from our own chair, not a measured result.
We make one of the two products compared and earn money when you buy it. Walker beats us on range, formats, manufacturing depth, oil-free remover count and price, and owns lace and wig adhesive outright. We hold no affiliate arrangement with Walker Tape or with any reseller named here, received nothing from any of them, and earn nothing from any link on this page except our own. Where Walker withholds a price, which is every page on its own site, we have attributed the reseller figure to the reseller rather than presenting it as Walker's.
Questions we get asked
Is Walker Tape better than Vanity?
Is Walker Tape cheaper than Vanity?
Does Walker Tape make an oil-free remover?
Should I use Walker's remover or Vanity's on Walker tape?
Do Vanity tabs fit Walker wefts, and the other way round?
How long does Walker extension tape last?
Does Walker C-22 contain d-limonene?
Why does Walker Tape not show prices?
How many removals does a bottle do?
Which remover is better on a genuinely hardened bond?
Is Walker C-22 safe for sensitive scalps?
What does Vanity actually do better than Walker?
Which should a stylist buying their first kit choose?
Sources
Every price, specification and claim about another brand on this page traces to one of the references below. Each was read on the date shown. Where a figure could not be verified from a primary source we have left it out rather than estimated it.
- Walker Tape - Beautify hair extension tapes collectionThe seven named Beautify extension tape lines - Duo-Pro, No-Shine, Ultra Hold, Lace Front, Natural Hold, Duo-Elite and Pro-Flex II - and the statement that Beautify tapes are designed for 4-6 weeks of wear depending on hair type, lifestyle and maintenance. No prices are shown.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Walker Tape - Beautify Ultra Hold Extension Tabs, 120pc bagThe 120-piece bag, the sizing for extensions up to 1cm x 4cm, the 4-6 week wear claim, the 60-80F dark, dry, sealed storage guidance, the one-year shelf life, and the line asking the visitor to log in to see price or purchase the item.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Walker Tape - Beautify Duo-Pro Extension Tabs, 120pc bagWalker's description of Duo-Pro as the first tape made exclusively for hair extensions, with one side built for the extension weft and one side for bio hair, its 120-piece count and its 1cm x 4cm sizing.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Walker Tape - Beautify adhesive removers collectionThe nine Beautify remover listings covering five products at 4 fl oz - Gel Release, Weft Release, No Trace, Extension Release and C-22 Citrus Solvent, in spray, drip-top and squeeze-bottle formats - and that every price requires a login.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Walker Tape - Beautify Extension Release, 4 fl oz sprayThat Extension Release has an alcohol base safe for all extensions, is described as skin safe, states that it evaporates without cleanup, and gives a 20-second dwell before repeating. No price shown.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Walker Tape - Beautify No Trace, 4 fl oz sprayThat No Trace has an alcohol base, is described as cutting through bonds like an oil-based solvent, states that it evaporates without cleanup, and gives a 10-second dwell. No price shown.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Walker Tape - Beautify Gel Release, 4 fl oz squeeze bottleThat Gel Release is made with an alcohol base, dissolves both extension tape and keratin bonds, and calls for a 30-second saturation on tape-in bonds. No price shown.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Walker Tape - C-22 Solvent, 4 fl oz sprayWalker's specification block of base oil, removal speed fast, residue high, fragrance mild citrus and skin safe yes, plus the flammability, ventilation, cut-or-irritated-skin and patch-test warnings quoted in the safety section. No price shown.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Walker Tape - C-22 Adhesive Remover safety data sheet (WTC-045, PDF)SDS WTC-045 version 2, issued 14 April 2025 and revised 19 May 2026; the West Jordan supplier address; clear orange liquid with citrus odor; Flammable liquids Category 4, signal word Warning, hazard statement combustible liquid; flash point 66C / 150.8F; evaporation rate under 0.06 against n-butyl acetate; vapor pressure 0.2 mm Hg at 20C; Section 3 naming only aloe barbadensis leaf juice, CAS 85507-69-3, at 5-10 percent with the remainder withheld as a trade secret; the aspiration hazard wording; the absence of OSHA, IARC or NTP listed carcinogens; the aquatic toxicity line; the nitrile or Kevlar glove recommendation; and the instruction not to store above 120F.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Walker Tape - C-22 Solvent, all sizesThe three C-22 sizes: 4 fl oz spray, 12 fl oz spray and a 128 fl oz gallon.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Walker Tape - Beautify Ultra Hold formatsThe Beautify Ultra Hold extension roll widths of 1/4in, 1/3in and 3/8in on 6 yard reels alongside the 120-piece tab bag, and the positioning for heavier wefts.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Walker Tape - Ultra Hold Tape, hair-system lineWalker's description of Ultra Hold as one of the strongest, longest holding and tackiest tapes in the industry with a hold of up to 4 or more weeks, and the full format list: 1/2in, 3/4in and 1in x 3in strips in 36pc bags, 72pc mini bags, AA, A, B, C and CC contours in 36pc and 1,000pc bags, and rolls from 1/2in to 1 1/2in wide in 3, 12 and 36 yard lengths.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Walker Tape - About UsThe 1985 founding by Brent Bonham starting in his basement, the description of Walker Tape as the industry leader in tape and adhesive for hair replacement systems, and the later expansion into hair extension, fashion and sports products.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Hair HA - Walker Tape Beautify Ultra Hold hair extension tapeA third-party retail price of $13.99 for the 120-piece Beautify Ultra Hold tab bag, used for the about $0.12 a tab figure, plus the 11.5 mil thickness and the 4-6 week hold. This is the reseller's price, not Walker's.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Wigs.com - Walker Tape C-22 Solvent, 4 ozA third-party sale price of $6.99 against a regular price of $8.20 for the 4 oz spray, and the ingredient statement of organic wetting agents, petroleum hydrocarbons, citrus oils and lanolin, cited as reproduced product copy rather than an itemized formulation.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Superhairpieces - Walker Tape C-22 Solvent, 4.0 ozA third-party retail price of $7.00 for the 4.0 oz spray, the same four-category ingredient statement reproduced independently, and the retailer's instruction to shampoo and rinse after application. Not Walker's own price.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Hive Beauty Supply - Walker Tape C-22 Solvent, 4 ozA third-party retail price of $10.99 for the 4 oz spray, used as the top of the retail range. Not Walker's own price.Accessed 2026-08-31
- Big Kizzy - Regular Hold Double Sided Replacement Tape TabsThe 72-tab pack at $15.99, the 4cm x 0.8cm category-standard dimension and the stated 5 or more week hold, cited here for the cross-brand wear-claim comparison and the standard tab footprint.Accessed 2026-08-31
- DermNet - Contact allergy to hydroperoxides of limonene and linaloolThat limonene is a fragrance chemical extracted from citrus peel, that on exposure to air it oxidizes into hydroperoxides which are much more potent sensitizers, and that ten percent of individuals investigated for a suspected contact dermatitis were found to be allergic to those hydroperoxides. Cited about citrus terpenes as a class, not about C-22, whose composition Walker withholds.Accessed 2026-08-31
About the brands mentioned. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any other company named on this page, and we earn no commission on anything we link to. Product names and trademarks belong to their respective owners. Prices, specifications and formulations are those published by each manufacturer at the time of writing and change without notice — check the current listing before you buy. Where we rank a competitor above our own product we mean it, and where we rank ours first we say which criterion produced that result so you can reject it. Reviews and comparisons here reflect our own experience behind the chair plus published information; they are not laboratory tests unless a page says so explicitly. Nothing here is medical advice. If you believe we have described your product unfairly or inaccurately, email info@vanityhairsolutions.com and we will correct it. Last reviewed 2026-08-31.